Spammers passing as M2 users
I have noticed that I have been getting very much more spam than usual the last few weeks. Someone is apparently wanting a new bot-net very much. Anyhow, I have also noticed that much spam is sent with the following footer:
–
Using Opera's revolutionary e-mail client: http://www.opera.com/mail/
Anyone using Opera M2 will recognise this default footer. Studying these emails' headers revels that the User-Agent: [is indeed] Opera Mail/9.50
. The address formatting is, however, revealing that the messages are probably not sent using Opera.
Update
Opera's press release has a whole lot more details.
Copyright © 2008 Daniel Aleksandersen 2008-07-27 at 12:07
« Delete Win XP wallpapers | Home | Published at Sitepoint (typography article) »- Better fonts in Opera
- Get Opera 9.5 from Opera’s Debian repository
- Privacy awareness in Opera
- Nokia aming for Opera?
- First blog Wii-sitor
- Opera mini using ¼ of Norway’s bandwidth
- KDE flashbacks
Get a free subscription to new entries in the Open Source Notebook!
Runbox
- 10 GB email storage,
- 1 GB file storage,
- 100 MB attachment limit,
- your own domain,
...and more! Get your own premium email for just 49 USD per year!
Categories- Communication (24)
- Conquering the Command Line (12)
- Gadgets (13)
- K Desktop Environment (25)
- Multimedia (23)
- Online Privacy (9)
- Open Formats (24)
- Reviews (6)
- Shape of the World (28)
- Software (25)
- Ubuntu and Debian Watch (12)
- User Interface (26)
- Your Rights! (8)
The archive keeps a record of all entries that have ever been published! Have a look back in time, and see what was going on!
LicenseThis blog entry text is licensed under a Creative Commons Sampling Plus 1.0 License. The license explained, and legal notes.

Leave your comment